TY Quiz Finals 2019

TY Quiz Finals 2019

The 4th National TY Young Persons’ Safety Quiz, organised by the Midland branch of the National Irish Safety Organisation (NISO), was held in Athlone Institute of Technology (AIT) on 17 October 2019. Seven teams completed for the trophy and prizes including Our Lady’s Bower Secondary School (OLB), Athlone Community School (ACC), and Moate Community School (MCS). They were competing for the “John Flanagan” Cup. Athlone Community College won the competition for the third year in a row. The winning team consisted of Sneha Chhipa, Suzie Gavin and Noa Moric. Moate Community School were runners up with a team of Hannah Doyle, Aoife Fox and Riona Lawless.

The winning team members received €100 each and a trophy, along with a trophy for the school. The runners up team members each received a €50 cheque and a trophy for the school. Other teams to compete were Moate CC T1  (Eoghan Raleigh, Matthew Hogg and Oisin Egan), ACC T2 (Corey Nugent, Fergus Halligan and Kyle Greasley), OLB T 5(Miriam Mohammad, Clare Reidy and Victoria Ikwvagwu), OLB T6 (Lucy Denby, Jessica Henson and Amy Duffy) and OLB T7 (Jane Connaughton, Mary O’Meara and Roisin Ni Dhuibhir).

Many thanks to the three teachers who prepared the students in the three schools namely Ethna Benson (OLB), Nicola Burke (ACC, Athlone) and Margaret Mandel ( MCC, Moate). Also in attendance was Ms Lillian O Neill (HSA representative on the NISO Executive National Committee and a past student of AIT).

Many thanks to those who helped out in the organising and running of this quiz including the caretakers and canteen staff of AIT; members of the NISO Midland region committee; members of NISO head office who were represented by Mr Ted O’Keefe, General Manager, NISO and Mr Harry Galvin, president, NISO,  both of whom travelled from Dublin for the event. Thanks also to the members of the Midland region who organised and ran the event on the night including Ms Chris McCormack and Mr John Henson.

TY Safety Quiz the Winning team with the John Flanagan Cup from Athlone Community College L to R : Harry Galvin, President, NISO; Ms Nicola Burke, TY Coordinator, Athlone Community College; Sneha Chhipa; Suzie Gavin; John Flanagan, Chairperson NISO Midland region and Noa Moric.
Runners up in the TY Safety Quiz from Moate Community School L to R: John Flanagan, Chairperson NISO Midland region; Aoife Fox; Hannah Doyle; Riona Lawless; Margaret Mandel, TY Coordinator, Moate Community School; and Harry Galvin, President, NISO.