Safety Awards Winners 2019

Safety Awards Winners 2019

PM Group wins All Ireland Supreme Safety Award 2019

The 28th National Irish Safety Organisation / Northern Ireland Safety Group (NISO/NISG) Annual Safety Awards took place on 11 October 2019 at a special ceremony in Galway at which the Supreme Safety Award winner for 2019, sponsored by Irving Oil Whitegate Refinery, was announced as PM Group.

The Supreme Safety Award is presented to the organisation that has shown consistently good or continuously improving health and safety performance over a number of years and an outstanding contribution to occupational safety, health and welfare during the previous year. The Awards are highly valued and regarded among health and safety professionals throughout the island of Ireland.

Other awards presented on the night include the Safety Representative of the Year Award 2019 in association with The CPL Institute. The winner of the Safety Representative of the Year Award for 2019 was Simon Lawless from Bon Secours Hospital Galway and the Runner Up prize was awarded to Gerry Duffy from Cold Chon (Galway) Ltd.

The inaugural Healthy Workplace Award, supported by Healthy Ireland, was jointly won by AbbVie Ballytivnan and Intel Ireland Ltd. The Healthy Workplace Award recognises the commitment of workplaces who promote health and wellbeing as a core element of the Health and Safety agenda.

Minister of State for Health Promotion at the Department of Health, Catherine Byrne TD, said that Healthy Ireland is delighted to be part of the NISO Awards as workplaces have a key role in improving the health of the nation.

“To support health and wellbeing in the workplace my Department, in partnership with the Department of Business, Enterprise and Innovation, are finalising the Healthy Workplace Framework which will
identify effective approaches for health improvement in workplaces, creating a healthier and more productive workforce”.

The Occupational Health Award, supported by the Health and Safety Authority (HSA) and the Health and Safety Executive for Northern Ireland (HSENI), was won by Kiernan Structural Steel.

The Superior Performance Award was won by Collen Construction. The Superior Performance Award is awarded to the organisation that best demonstrates evidence that they have introduced proactive measures over and above the legal requirement to provide a superior safety working environment for all.

The Driving for Work Award was won by KD Group. The Driving for Work Award is an award requiring entrants to demonstrate evidence of the following in relation to driving for work: policy, planning, practice, measuring performance and reviewing performance.

The awards, which demonstrate the positive and proactive culture of safety management in organisations, were supported by the Health and Safety Authority, Health and Safety Executive for Northern Ireland, Healthy Ireland and Irving Oil Whitegate Refinery. The 56th annual NISO Health and Safety conference, which preceded the safety awards ceremony, was sponsored by Ayrton Group and Intel Ireland Ltd. (Gold sponsors); DB Schenker and SignsInc Ltd. (Silver sponsors).

Sharon McGuinness, CEO, Health and Safety Authority, along with Harry Galvin, NISO President and John Thompson, NISG chair, presented awards to over 100 organisations from all around the island of Ireland. The Gold Award was won by W & H Alexander Ltd., the Silver Award by Jones Engineering Group and the Bronze Award by Cold Chon (Galway) Ltd. Chemoran.

A number of Exceptional High Achiever awards were presented to organisations that consistently achieved a high standard safety award for more than ten years, representing their continuous commitment to health and safety in their organisation. Recipients of this award include Actavo (Ireland) Limited, Cold Chon (Galway) Ltd. Chemoran, Designer Group, PM Group, John Sisk and Son (Holdings) Ltd., Jones Engineering Group, Roadbridge Ltd. and Road Maintenance Services.

Expressions of interest for the 2020 safety awards can be emailed to Register with NISO / NISG to receive details of the 2020 Awards when available.

The full list of awards winners for 2019 can be found at: