HSA Board

Health and Safety Authority Board 2020 – 2022

Tom Coughlan Former Chief Executive, Clare County Council (2009 -2016). Board member of Failte Ireland and the Eirgrid Group (Ministerial – PAS Process).

Representing Employers
Andrew Bowers Director Operational Excellence, EMEA at Baxter Healthcare Corporation (Ibec nominee).
Frank Kelly Director Walls Construction (Ibec nominee).
Paul Kelly Director Food Drink Ireland (Ibec nominee).

Representing Employees
David Hughes Deputy General Secretary, INMO (ICTU Nominee).
Deirdre McDonald President ASTI (ICTU nominee).
Michelle Quinn (Deputy Chairperson) Sector Organiser Services Division, SIPTU (ICTU nominee).

Ministerial Appointments
Deirdre Cullivan HR Consultant (Ministerial – PAS Process).
Stephen Curran Principal Officer, Department of Business, Enterprise and Innovation (Ministerial – Departmental Representative)
Three more Ministerial appointments are currently being processed by the Department of Business, Enterprise and Innovation.

The Safety Health and Welfare at Work Act 2005 (section 37) provides that the Board of the Health and Safety Authority shall consist of 12 members: 11 ordinary members and a Chairperson.
Three are employer nominees, three are employee nominees and five are Ministerial nominees (including a representative of the Department) in addition to the Chairperson.
The power to appoint the Board rests with the Minister of State at the Department of Business, Enterprise and Innovation
Updated: 20 July 2020