NISO Annual General Meeting 2015

NISO Annual General Meeting 2015

NISO held its 2015 AGM in the Gresham Hotel in Dublin on 23 April

Delivering the presidential address at the National Irish Safety Organisation (NISO) Annual General Meeting (AGM), NISO president Pauric Corrigan stated that with the slight improvement in the Irish economy, NISO membership showed an increase in 2014 and that NISO continues to recruit new members.

Mr Corrigan said that the financial position of the organisation for 2014 had been prudently monitored by the officers and executive committee.

Mr Corrigan was delighted to announce that the 2015 conference and safety awards will be hosted by the western region on 2 October in the Radisson Blu Hotel, Galway. Corrigan also announced the launch of a new award, the NISO Superior Performance award, sponsored by Anderco Safety.

Speaking of Workers’ Memorial Day, Mr Corrigan acknowledged the Minister for Business and Employment Ged Nash who has put this day in place as an annually recurring event. Mr Corrigan encouraged all members to mark this day with an event in their workplace.

Click here for President’s Report in full.


Speaking at the AGM, NISO honorary secretary Harry Galvin noted that, according to the official figures for 2014, 55 individuals lost their lives in the workplace during the year, an increase from 47 in 2013. Mr Galvin mentioned NISO’s concerns over the severe financial cutbacks to both the HSA and the Gardaí in the last years. Mr Galvin stated that in his opinion it is no coincidence that as these cutbacks in resources have been applied we have seen an increase in fatalities on both our roads and in our workplaces.

Click here for the Secretary’s Report in full.

Executive Committee 2015

The NISO Executive committee 2015:

  • Pauric Corrigan (President), west region
  • Harry Galvin (Hon secretary), East region
  • Des Brandon (Treasurer), east region and members’ representative
  • Bill Kelly (Vice President), Midwest region and members’ representative
  • Sheena Notley, Health and Safety Authority
  • Michael Dowling, Irish Congress of Trade Unions
  • Michael Horan, Insurance Ireland
  • Anne Murphy, Irish Business and Employers Confederation
  • Philip Thornton, Midwest region
  • John Quinn, north west region
  • Fergal McKevitt, north east region
  • Michael O’Neill, south region
  • John Flanagan, midland region
  • John O’Reilly, east region
  • Catherine Hession, west region and members’ representative
  • Edel Niland, east region and members’ representative