Tipperary Fire and Rescue Service wins All Ireland Supreme Safety Award 2018

The 27th National Irish Safety Organisation / Northern Ireland Safety Group (NISO/NISG) Annual Safety Awards took place on 12 October 2018 at a special ceremony in Killarney at which the Supreme Safety Award winner for 2018, sponsored by Irving Oil Whitegate Refinery, was announced as Tipperary Fire and Rescue Service.

The Supreme Safety Award is presented to the organisation that has shown consistently good or continuously improving health and safety performance over a number of years and an outstanding contribution to occupational safety, health and welfare during the previous year. The Awards are highly valued and regarded among health and safety professionals throughout the island of Ireland.

Other awards presented on the night include the Safety Representative of the Year Award 2018 in association with The CPL Institute. The winner of the Safety Representative of the Year Award for 2018 was Lisa Bourke from Baxter and the Runner Up prize was awarded to Hazel Guinan from Ecolab Limited.

The Superior Performance Award, sponsored by Anderco, was won by Nutricia Infant Nutrition Limited. The Anderco Superior Performance Award is awarded to the organisation that best demonstrates evidence that they have introduced proactive measures over and above the legal requirement to provide a superior safety working environment for all.

The Driving for Work Award, sponsored by ALD Merrion, was won by John Sisk and Son (Holdings) Ltd. The Driving for Work Award is an award requiring entrants to demonstrate evidence of the following in relation to driving for work: policy, planning, practice, measuring performance and reviewing performance.

The Occupational Health Award, supported by the Health and Safety Authority (HSA) and the Health and Safety Executive for Northern Ireland (HSENI), was won by John Graham Construction Ltd.

The awards, which demonstrate the positive and proactive culture of safety management in organisations, were supported by Anderco, Health and Safety Authority, Health and Safety Executive for Northern Ireland, Irving Oil Whitegate Refinery and ALD Merrion. The 55th annual NISO health and safey conference, which preceded the safety awards ceremony, was sponsored by Anderco, Intel Ireland (Gold Plus sponsors); Ayrton Group (Silver Plus sponsor) and DB Schenker (Bronze sponsor).

Pat Breen T.D., Minister of State for Trade, Business, EU Digital Single Market and Data Protection along with Harry Galvin, NISO President and John Thompson, NISG chair, presented awards to over 100 organisations from all around the island of Ireland. The Gold Award was won by Cold Chon (Galway) Ltd. (Chemoran), the Silver Award by John Sisk & Son (Holdings) Ltd. and the Bronze Award by Actavo (Ireland) Ltd.

A number of Exceptional High Achiever awards were presented to organisations that consistently achieved a high standard safety award for more than ten years, representing their continuous commitment to health and safety in their organisation. Recipients of this award include Actavo (Ireland) Limited, Cold Chon Galway Ltd. (CHEMORAN), Designer Group, PM Group, Jones Engineering Group and Roadbridge Ltd.

Consistent High Achiever awards were presented to organisations that consistently achieved a high standard safety award for more than five years, representing their continuous commitment to health and safety in their organisation. Recipients of this awards includes AbbVie Ireland NL B.V., Acacia Facilities Management Ltd., Aura Sport and Leisure Management Ltd., BAM Ireland, Bon Secours Hospital Dublin, Cork City Council, Fingal County Council, Glan Agua Ltd., GMC Utilities Group Ltd., Hertel (Ireland) Ltd., Honeywell Aerospace Ireland Limited, John Paul Construction, John Sisk and Son (Holdings) Ltd., Kirby Group Engineering, Leo Lynch Group, Mainline Group Ltd., MEIC Ltd., Merit Medical Ireland Ltd., Musgrave Wholesale Partners, O’Connor Sutton Cronin, Obelisk, P & D Lydon, Road Maintenance Services Ltd., Sky Handling Partner Ltd., Tipperary Fire & Rescue Service, TLI Group, W & H Alexander Limited, Walls Construction Limited, Wexford County Fire Service, Winthrop Engineering Ltd.

Expressions of interest for the 2019 safety awards can be emailed to awards@niso.ie. Register with NISO / NISG to receive details of the 2019 Awards when available.

The full list of awards winners for 2018 can be found at: safetyawards.ie/2018-winners/


Hall of Fame – 26 years of winners of the Supreme Award

  • 2018 Tipperary Fire and Rescue Service
  • 2017 Jones Engineering Group
  • 2016 John Paul Construction
  • 2015 Sierra Support Services Group
  • 2014 Cold Chon (Galway) Ltd. (Chemoran)
  • 2013 GE Healthcare
  • 2012 MSD, Brinny
  • 2011 Diamond Innovations Irish Operations
  • 2010 Masonite Ireland
  • 2009 PSE Kinsale Energy Ltd.
  • 2008 Swords Laboratories
  • 2007 Baxter Healthcare Irish Manufacturing Operations
  • 2006 Helsinn Birex Pharmaceuticals Ltd.
  • 2005 Roadbridge Ltd.
  • 2004 Helsinn Chemicals Ireland Ltd.
  • 2003 Bausch & Lomb Ireland
  • 2002 GE Superabrasives Ireland
  • 2001 Merck Sharp & Dohme (Ireland) Ltd.
  • 2000 Aughinish Alumina
  • 1999 Janssen Pharmaceutical Ltd.
  • 1998 Bausch & Lomb Ireland Sunglass Operation
  • 1997 Olin Chemicals BV
  • 1996 Intel Ireland Ltd.
  • 1995 Janssen Pharmaceutical Limited
  • 1994 Merck Sharp & Dohme Ireland
  • 1993 Irish Refining plc
  • 1992 Arthur Guinness & Son (Dublin) Ltd.

Interested in more information about the 2019 awards?
Visit our dedicated website SafetyAwards.ie