Jones Engineering Group wins All Ireland Supreme Safety Award 2017

The 26th Annual National Irish Safety Organisation / Northern Ireland Safety Group (NISO/NISG) Safety Awards took place on 13 October 2017 at a special ceremony in Galway at which the Supreme Safety Award winner for 2017, sponsored by Irving Oil Whitegate Refinery, was announced as Jones Engineering Group.

The Supreme Safety Award is presented to the organisation which has shown consistently good or continuously improving health and safety performance over a number of years and an outstanding contribution to occupational safety, health and welfare during the previous year. The Awards are highly valued and regarded among health and safety professionals throughout the island of Ireland.

Other awards presented on the night include the Safety Representative of the Year Award 2017, in association with The CPL Institute, which was awarded to Darren Carroll, Ecolab Ireland.

The Superior Performance Award, sponsored by Anderco, was won by Sensata Technologies. The Anderco Superior Performance Award is awarded to the organisation that best demonstrates evidence that they have introduced proactive measures over and above the legal requirement to provide a superior safety working environment for all.

The Driving for Work Award, sponsored by ALD Merrion, was won by Northern Ireland Electricity Networks Limited. The Driving for Work Award is a newly introduced award requiring entrants to demonstrate evidence of the following in relation to driving for work: policy, planning, practice, measuring performance and reviewing performance.

The Occupational Health Award, supported by the Health and Safety Authority (HSA) and the Health and Safety Executive for Northern Ireland (HSENI), was won by Henkel Ireland Operations and Research Ltd.

The awards, which demonstrate the positive and proactive culture of safety management in organisations, were supported by ALD Merrion, Anderco, Health and Safety Authority, Health and Safety Executive for Northern Ireland and Irving Oil Whitegate Refinery. The 54th annual NISO health and safey conference, which preceded the safety awards ceremony, was sponsored Anderco, Intel Ireland, Ayrton Group, Bord Gáis Energy, Bollé Safety, Bunzl Cleaning and Safety Supplies, DB Schenker, Roadbridge and Wood Group.

Harry Galvin, NISO President, along with John Thompson, Incoming NISG chair, and Seán Kyne T.D., Minister for Rural Affairs and Natural Resources, presented awards to over 100 organisations from all around the island of Ireland. The Gold Award was won by PM Group, the Silver Award by Longford County Council and the Bronze Award by Designer Group Engineering Contractors.

A number of high achiever awards were presented to organisations that consistently achieved a high standard safety award for more than five years, representing their continuous commitment to health and safety in their organisation. Recipients of this award include AbbVie Ireland NL B.V., Acacia Facilities Management Ltd., Actavo (Ireland) Ltd., Alkermes Pharma Ireland ltd., Allergan Pharmaceuticals Ireland, Central Bank of Ireland, Cold Chon Galway Ltd. (CHEMORAN), Cork City Council, Designer Group Engineering Contractors, EMR Integrated Solutions, Fingal County Council, GMC Utilities Group Ltd., John Paul Construction, John Sisk & Son, Jones Engineering Group, K Leisure, Kirby Group Engineering, Leo Lynch, Mainline Group Ltd., Merit Medical Ireland ltd., Montupet UK Ltd., O’Connor Sutton Cronin, Obelisk Group, PM Group, Road Maintenance Services, Roadbridge Ltd., Sky Handling Partner Ltd., Tipperary Fire & Rescue Service, TLI Group, W&H Alexander Limited, Walsh Mechanical Engineering, Winthrop Engineering ltd. and Xerox Technology.

Expressions of interest for the 2018 safety awards can be emailed to Register with NISO / NISG to receive details of the 2018 Awards when available.

Click here to view the full list of 2017 Award Winners.

Photographs from the event will be available online soon.

Hall of Fame – 25 years of winners of the Supreme Award

  • 2017 Jones Engineering Group
  • 2016 John Paul Construction
  • 2015 Sierra Support Services Group
  • 2014 Cold Chon (Galway) Ltd. (Chemoran)
  • 2013 GE Healthcare
  • 2012 MSD, Brinny
  • 2011 Diamond Innovations Irish Operations
  • 2010 Masonite Ireland
  • 2009 PSE Kinsale Energy Ltd.
  • 2008 Swords Laboratories
  • 2007 Baxter Healthcare Irish Manufacturing Operations
  • 2006 Helsinn Birex Pharmaceuticals Ltd.
  • 2005 Roadbridge Ltd.
  • 2004 Helsinn Chemicals Ireland Ltd.
  • 2003 Bausch & Lomb Ireland
  • 2002 GE Superabrasives Ireland
  • 2001 Merck Sharp & Dohme (Ireland) Ltd.
  • 2000 Aughinish Alumina
  • 1999 Janssen Pharmaceutical Ltd.
  • 1998 Bausch & Lomb Ireland Sunglass Operation
  • 1997 Olin Chemicals BV
  • 1996 Intel Ireland Ltd.
  • 1995 Janssen Pharmaceutical Limited
  • 1994 Merck Sharp & Dohme Ireland
  • 1993 Irish Refining plc
  • 1992 Arthur Guinness & Son (Dublin) Ltd.

Interested in more information about the 2018 awards?
Visit our dedicated website