The 25th Annual National Irish Safety Organisation / Northern Ireland Safety Group (NISO/NISG) Safety Awards took place on 7 October 2016 at a special ceremony in Killarney at which the Supreme Safety Award winner for 2016, sponsored by Irving Oil Whitegate Refinery, was announced as John Paul Construction.

The Supreme Safety Award is presented to the organisation which has shown consistently good or continuously improving health and safety performance over a number of years and an outstanding contribution to occupational safety, health and welfare during the previous year. The Awards are highly valued and regarded among health and safety professionals throughout the island of Ireland.

Other awards presented on the night include the Safety Representative of the Year Award 2016, in association with The CPL Institute, which was awarded to David Byrne, Henkel Ireland Operations and Research Limited.

The Superior Performance Award, sponsored by Anderco, was won by Lagan Construction Group. The Anderco Superior Performance Award is awarded to the organisation that best demonstrates evidence that they have introduced proactive measures over and above the legal requirement to provide a superior safety working environment for all.

The inaugural Driving for Work Award, sponsored by Merrion Fleet Management Ltd., was won by Mainline Group. The Driving for Work Award is a newly introduced award requiring entrants to demonstrate evidence of the following in relation to driving for work: policy, planning, practice, measuring performance and reviewing performance.

The Occupational Health Award, supported by the Health and Safety Authority (HSA) and the Health and Safety Executive for Northern Ireland (HSENI), was jointly won by John Paul Construction and John Graham Construction.

The awards, which demonstrate the positive and proactive culture of safety management in organisations, were sponsored by Anderco, Construction Industry Federation, Health and Safety Authority, Health and Safety Executive Northern Ireland, Irving Oil Whitegate Refinery and Merrion Fleet Management Ltd. The 53rdannual NISO health and safey conference, which preceded the safety awards ceremony, was sponsored by Abbott Ireland, Anderco, Bollé Safety, Bord Gáis Energy, ESS Groundforce/Safeforce, Gas Networks Ireland, Intel Ireland Ltd., Kilcawley Construction and Jones Engineering Group.

Fergal McKevitt, NISO Secretary, along with Mandy Nelson, NISG chair, and Pat Breen T.D., Minister for Employment and Small Business, presented awards to over 100 organisations from all around the island of Ireland. The Gold Award was won by Leo Lynch, the Silver Award by Jones Engineering Group and the Bronze Award by Winthrop Engineering Ltd.

A number of high achiever awards were presented to organisations that consistently achieved a high standard safety award between for more than five years, representing their continuous commitment to health and safety in their organisation. Recipients of this award include Acacia Facilities Management Ltd., Actavo Network & In-Home Division, Alkermes Pharma Ireland Ltd., Allergan Pharmaceuticals, Bon Secours Hospital Galway, Cold Chon Galway Ltd. (Chemoran), Designer Group Engineering Contractors, Fingal County Council, GMC Utilities Group Ltd., John Graham Construction Ltd., John Paul Construction, John Sisk + Son (Holdings) Ltd., Jones Engineering Group, K Leisure, Kilcawley Construction, Kirby Group Engineering, Lake Region Medical Limited, Northstone N.I. Limited (Materials), Obelisk Group, PM Group, Road Maintenance Services, Roadbridge Ltd., Sky Handling Partner Ltd., TLI Group, W & H Alexander Limited, Winthrop Engineering Ltd. and Xerox Technology.

Expressions of interest for the 2017 safety awards can be emailed to Register with NISO / NISG to receive details of the 2017 Awards when available.

Click here for the full list of award winners.

Click here to view photographs of the ceremony


Hall of Fame – 25 years of winners of the Supreme Award

  • 2016 John Paul Construction
  • 2015 Sierra Support Services Group
  • 2014 Cold Chon (Galway) Ltd. (Chemoran)
  • 2013 GE Healthcare
  • 2012 MSD, Brinny
  • 2011 Diamond Innovations Irish Operations
  • 2010 Masonite Ireland
  • 2009 PSE Kinsale Energy Ltd.
  • 2008 Swords Laboratories
  • 2007 Baxter Healthcare Irish Manufacturing Operations
  • 2006 Helsinn Birex Pharmaceuticals Ltd.
  • 2005 Roadbridge Ltd.
  • 2004 Helsinn Chemicals Ireland Ltd.
  • 2003 Bausch & Lomb Ireland
  • 2002 GE Superabrasives Ireland
  • 2001 Merck Sharp & Dohme (Ireland) Ltd.
  • 2000 Aughinish Alumina
  • 1999 Janssen Pharmaceutical Ltd.
  • 1998 Bausch & Lomb Ireland Sunglass Operation
  • 1997 Olin Chemicals BV
  • 1996 Intel Ireland Ltd.
  • 1995 Janssen Pharmaceutical Limited
  • 1994 Merck Sharp & Dohme Ireland
  • 1993 Irish Refining plc
  • 1992 Arthur Guinness & Son (Dublin) Ltd.

Interested in more information about the 2017 awards?
Visit our dedicated website